Ecurie Ecosse

Noble-5Ecurie Ecosse head back to Circuit de la Sarthe on the 60th anniversary of their famous one-two finish where Ron Flockhart and Ivor Bueb were victorious in the Jaguar D-Type from Ninian Sanderson and John Lawrence who finished an incredible second. For the team, the anniversary of its 1957 victory, marked the perfect time a return to sports car racing.

“It’s been a fantastic season for us so far and it’s thrilling to see the team compete in the Road to Le Mans,” stated Director and Driver Alasdair McCaig. “We have a rich pedigree in the sport and we’re delighted to play our part in this year’s event and it is a great honour to see Ecurie Ecosse returning to Le Mans 60 years on from the famous victory at La Sarthe.”

This year, the Nielsen-run team has enjoyed great success on their return to sports car racing, winning three of four rounds in the Henderson LMP3 Cup and taking a debut win in the Michelin Le Mans Cup at Monza, Italy, last month.

Colin Noble and Tony Wells team up once again in what will be a formidable driver line-up. Noble competes in both the Le Mans Cup and the LMP3 Cup and is part of the Ecurie Ecosse Young Driver Initiative, while Wells also races in both championships albeit with a rival team in LMP3 Cup.

Ecurie Ecosse are chasing its fifth win from six starts this year at the Road to Le Mans, and aiming to replicate the success of both 1957 and 1956 at the iconic French circuit.

Tony Wells

“After a fabulous result in Monza, we are very excited to be going to the next round at Le Mans. I’ve never driven the track and the last time I was there (1991) I watched Johnny Herbert win in a Mazda!

“So it will be a great challenge and I can’t wait to be on the grid soaking up the atmosphere at one of the most famous races in the world – amazing! Oh; and also I hope win!”

Colin Noble

“I am really excited to race at such an iconic track, it will be a big challenge as I have never raced at the track previously but I am sure myself and my teammate will get to grips with it quickly!”

The Road to Le Mans consists of two races, the first taking place at 17.30 Thursday 15 June, the second at 11.30 Saturday 17 June.

Comments are closed.